top of page

Early Years Foundation Stage Curriculum
"Play is often talked about as if it were a relief from serious learning. But for children, play is serious learning. Play is really the work of childhood”. - Fred Rodgers

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS)


Children in Nursery (F1) and Reception (F2) follow the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) curriculum. This curriculum is the forerunner to the National Curriculum and involves young children experimenting, investigating, and making sense of the world around them through play.


The EYFS curriculum has 7 aspects. The first three are the Prime Areas as skills in these aspects underpin all other learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development (Self-care, Self-regulation, Building Relationships)

  • Communication and Language (Listening, Attention and Understanding; Speaking)

  • Physical Development (Gross Motor Skills, Fine Motor Skills)

  • Literacy (Comprehension, Word Reading, Writing)

  • Mathematics (Numbers, Numerical Patterns)

  • Understanding the World (People, Culture and Communities, The Natural World, Past and Present)

  • Expressive Arts and Design (Creating with Materials; Being Imaginative and Expressive).


Exciting first-hand experiences, both child-initiated and adult-led, enable the children to develop knowledge, understanding and key skills in all areas of learning which provide a sound basis for later education.

The Foundation Stage Profile is the nationally employed assessment tool that enables teachers to record their observations at the end of the Foundation Stage, and to summarise their pupils’ progress towards the Early Learning Goals. It covers each of the seven areas of learning contained in the curriculum guidance for the Foundation Stage.

For more information about the EYFS please follow the link below:

Statutory framework for the early years foundation stage

bottom of page